Updo Protective Style

I decided to cut my hair in 2013 after about 7 months of growing out my relaxer. At the time, my hair had healthy thick roots, but thinning weak ends. The decision to go natural did not come easy to me; it required much thought and preparation.

In the beginning of my natural hair journey, I had to learn my hair. I had to figure out which styles and products worked best for me. There was a lot of trial and error, but eventually I put together a hair routine that maximized my hair health and growth.

At this point in my natural hair journey I’m focused on retaining length. I’m currently at mid-back, but my goal is tail bone length hair. I believe I can achieve this goal by maintaining a healthy hair routine; deep conditioning regularly and paying special attention to my ends.

My twisted updo is perfect for me these days. This style consists of 10 chunky two strand twists and two flat twists. Because my hair is prone to dryness, I have to make sure that I keep my ends moisturized and tucked away as much as possible. I’ve been wearing some version of this protective style for the past few months; minimizing the amount of time my hair is out and exposed.

For the month of July I plan to share my updated natural hair routine. Although I am not a licensed cosmetologist, I will be documenting the products, techniques, tools, and routine that have proven to work for me.

If you have any questions or specific topics that you would like me to address, please feel free to let me know in the comment sections.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Antonio M Toro says:

    Your hair looks great. Question Your mom had 4 kids, North, South and East. What is the last kids name?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Antonio ☺️ If it’s my mom, then the last kid’s name would be Cherrelle 😂

      Like

Leave a comment